A Prayer for the Pink-Slip Willies


There’s nothing more energy sapping than to try to go about business as usual when you’re nervous about your job, especially if you’re in a position where you’re  waiting for the other shoe to drop. And these days, you never know when it will.  It’s hard to stay up when uncertainty abounds. But somehow you’ve got to keep yourself pumped, and your thoughts positive. Here’s a prayer that may help:

Lord, please give me the grace to put aside my worries about work. Let me live in the moment and be grateful for the job I have right now. Keep me from ruining my day with paranoia about whether I’ll have my job tomorrow.  Help me stay positive. I know you know what’s best for me. So help me remember you will always give me what I need (which may not always correspond with what I want). And if your plans do include a pink slip, help me flex my faith muscle and trust the new road you’re putting me on. Teach me to understand that what I consider a setback may actually be your way of moving me forward. Finally, help me look at any work-related challenge you put before me as an opportunity to grow, secure in the knowledge you want me to succeed and find joy.  Amen.

Still have job jitters, try Jeremiah 29:11 … “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

One response to “A Prayer for the Pink-Slip Willies

  1. I really like how you put a light aspect to a heavy point!

Leave a Reply

